CAFE PLENTY

“Cafe Plenty – Feeding the appetite and satisfying the soul”.

http://cafeplenty.com/

I came across this cafe when I was commuting by Greyhound between cities with a stop-over in Toronto. I had a few hours to spend, and so I took a look around for a spot to drink some coffee and read. I knew this cafe was new because I know Dundas street between Dundas square and Kensington Market like the palm of my hand. I figured I had to check it out! And to my surprise, it was absolutely beautiful. When I walked in I was instantly greeted, which I really appreciate because I know a lot about good customer service. Then I instantly noticed the strong sense of place. You know the interior designer did a good job when you feel like you are walking in to a whole new atmosphere (and it’s hard to shake off the grimey atmosphere of the area). The cafes palette consists of a lot of white wood and tile with wooden (beige/light brown) and metal (silver) details. The interior design style has a strong upscale/classy aura with a raw/industrial twist, which reminds me of a lot of the bars and cafes in Vancouver such as Stackhouse BurgerBar. The frontage is very narrow and is over 90% glazed, which, as I have previously described with the Princess Cafe, is very inviting and provides a strong connection between the outdoor public realm and the indoor space.

During the 2 hours that I sat in this cafe, I noticed many people stopping to take a look, most of which decided to come inside. The cafe opened in December, so it is relatively new and a lot of people are still passing by and noticing it for the first time. I thought it was nice to see a lot of passers-by immediately convinced to come in after noticing it.

The cafe offers a variety of beautifully crafted lunch-style food. Everything looked delicious!

The cafe is located within a 2 minute walking distance from the St. Patrick subway station, and on the way to OCAD, Chinatown, the AGO, and Kensington Market, which puts it in a prime location that is easy to access and stumble upon, and that is frequented by a high volume of traffic. There are no cafes to compare this one to in the area, therefore I am certain that it will maintain a successful business. It is a diamond in the rough, and it is truly something to talk about.

2 thoughts on “CAFE PLENTY

  1. Bolest says:

    Excellent web site. A lot of useful info here. I’m sending it to some friends ans also sharing in delicious. And naturally, thanks to your effort!

  2. jouljet says:

    Ohhh, just stopped in here myself this evening on my way home from work, and grabbed the most delicious salad I have ever had! Ha!
    I too loved the design, so crisp, white and clean feeling!
    Knowing how good this place is now is a little dangerous! Ha! I see many brunch/lunch/snacking missions from work now in the coming weeks!!

Leave a Reply

